Project 1: Order

imageimageAttached are the links for the iMotion videos I recorded making my final sculptures, as well as 2 pictures of the final products. I decided upon a 4-sided pyramid without the base plane as my individual unit. I enjoy this shape because it’s interesting enough of its own, but also has enough planes that I could make something interesting out of them. I also enjoyed experimenting with the side missing the base, the interior view of the pyramids adds an interesting new aspect/angle to the unit without changing the shape.

I had a bit of trouble with my sculptures but ultimately I’m fairly happy with the results. I had a lot of difficulty with the glueing, probably because I was using rubber cement instead of hot glue (lesson learned). Neither sculpture turned out exactly as I planned, it was tough to create perfect symmetry/keep the increments even because of how slow-drying the rubber cement is.

Anyway, as far as the actual pieces go: For my first piece (the non-symmetrical one), I was mainly focusing on the gestalt principle Continuity. I tried to attach the pieces in a way that they would appear to ‘flow’ and bend inwards. This was a challenge given the sharp angles of the pyramids I was using but that’s why I wanted to do it. I wanted this piece to appear continuous and flowing inward, which is close to the opposite of what I was trying to achieve with my second piece.

For starters, I wanted to make my second piece start from one point on the base board, as opposed to starting from 4 different places like in my first one. Where in my first piece I wanted to capture fluidity/continuity, I wanted to include more symmetry/order in my second. I also tried to build the sculpture in an outwards-flowing direction, as opposed to the first one. I wanted also to take more obvious advantage of the pyramid’s planes and sharp angles in this piece, whereas in the first I wanted more of a smooth-flowing composition.

All in all this project was a success for me, I’ve drawn and painted my whole life but I’ve never really created many 3-dimensional compositions. It was challenging and of course I’d do some things differently but it was a learning experience for me and I learned a lot that I can hopefully put to use not only in this class but in the rest of my art career as well.

Youtube links:

Leave a Reply

